Trapped

By: Katya Rodriguez

Invisible,                                                                  

even if I’m in a room full of people.

As if I could just disappear and no one would care.

Like a wall,

I stand there while listening,

watching silently as time passes.

I want to cry,

but my voice feels trapped inside itself

and nothing but a whisper is heard. 

Sometimes I get in my head,

looking at the same four cobblestone walls,

and I can’t find an escape in the maze I’ve made.

I want to run away into the moonlight,

but I stay frozen in place,

as the sun shines in my face.

I’ve lost sight of who I am,

no longer recognizing that feeling, 

of a gentle wind in your hair.

I’ve lost sight of the truth,

running in circles within myself.

Is it worth it?

I don’t recognize the person staring back,

A stranger who smiles with me.

Where has the time gone by?

Ticking like an old grandfather clock

I’ve gone mad,

Perhaps it’s time to admit

I have lost sight of the exit,

running circles around myself. 

A never-ending loop,

trapped within myself.